About SD 33 Republicans

Welcome to the online home of SD 33 Republicans.

The mission of Senate District 33 is the maintenance and advancement of efficient, effective government and the election of Republicans at the national, state, and local level - to bring common sense values to our government and return decision making to the people.

Senate District 33 is located in the 3rd Congressional District and is made up of the following cities in the western suburbs of Minneapolis: Corcoran - Deephaven - Excelsior - Greenfield - Greenwood - Independence - Long Lake - Loretto - Maple Plain - Medina - Minnetonka Beach - Minnetrista - Mound - Orono - Shorewood - Spring Park - St. Bonifacius - Tonka Bay - Wayzata and parts of Chanhassen

SD33 State Central delegates and alternates

Executive Committee

Senate District 33 has a large, active Executive Committee

Co-Chairs - Norma Friedrichs and Diane Shelgren

Vice Chair -  Darrin Rosha

Secretary - Denise Kozojed-Plechash

Treasurer - Alex Plechash

IT Chair - Kevin Moxness

Finance Chair - Jennifer Larson

Volunteer Coordinator - Andrew Myers

Liaison for Young Republicans - Matt Gallivan

SD33A - Area 1 Vice Chair (Independence and Minnetrista) Dick Tubesing

SD33A - Area 2 Vice Chair (Loretto, Maple Plain, Medina and St. Bonifacius) Lori Cousineau

SD33A - Area 3 Vice Chair (Orono 1, 3, and 4, Wayzata and Long Lake) Mark Doepke

SD33A - Area 4 Vice Chair (Corcoran and Greenfield) Jerene Skeie

SD33B - Area 5 Vice Chair (Mound, Orono 2, and Spring Park) David Spilseth

SD33B - Area 6 Vice Chair (Excelsior and Shorewood) Kathe Ostrom

SD33B - Area 7 Vice Chair (Deephaven, Greenwood, Minnetonka Beach, and Tonka Bay) Stacey Vokrot-Mello

Member at Large -  Karen Lane

Elected Officials In SD33

Senate District 33 has a long history of electing Republican Legislators. Currently serving are:

Senator David Osmek

Representative Jerry Hertaus in SD33A

Senator David Osmek

In these past four years, I have taken on a leadership role in the Minnesota Senate as Minority Whip. While the DFL continues to simply throw more money at every situation, I have fought hard to make government work more efficiently. In fact I am the only Minnesota legislator to earn the Taxpayers League "Best Friend of the Taxpayer" award for three straight years (three for three!).

Click for Official Website

(651) 296-1282


Representative Jerry Hertaus

I am deeply honored by the continued constituent support to represent House District 33A, serving my fifth term at the Minnesota Legislature. During these past many years I have forged many positive relationships with members of both chambers and both sides of the aisle for the purpose of advancing legislation and reforms benefiting all constituents of our state and local community. I have the distinct pleasure of serving upon the highly regarded Ways & Means Committee, the Taxes Committee, and am the ranking minority member of the Property Tax and Local Government Committee. In addition, I have been appointed to the Capitol Area Architectural Planning Board (CAAPB) which has jurisdiction over all infrastructure activities, changes or improvements upon the 60+ acre Capitol Area Complex and also am the Chair of the Legislative Budget Office Oversight Commission ( LBOOC ), which is a recently created office to produce fiscal notes relating to proposed legislation independent of the Executive Branch.

Click for Official Website

(651) 296-9188


District Maps: Click on the map for a larger version

SD 33A

SD 33B